

# CITY OF VAUGHAN INAUGURAL COUNCIL MINUTES DECEMBER 6, 2010

# **Table of Contents**

Minute No.		Page No.
165.	CONFIRMING BY-LAW	205
166.	ADJOURNMENT	205

### **CITY OF VAUGHAN**

## **INAUGURAL MEETING OF COUNCIL**

#### **MONDAY, DECEMBER 6, 2010**

#### **MINUTES**

#### 7:00 P.M.

The Inaugural meeting of Council commenced at 7:01 pm in the City Hall Council Chambers, Vaughan, Ontario.

The following members were present:

Hon. Maurizio Bevilacqua, Mayor, Chair Regional Councillor Gino Rosati Regional Councillor Michael Di Biase Regional Councillor Deb Schulte Councillor Tony Carella Councillor Rosanna DeFrancesca Councillor Marilyn Iafrate Councillor Sandra Yeung Racco Councillor Alan Shefman

The City Clerk, Mr. Jeffrey A. Abrams, called the Inaugural Meeting of Council to order at 7:01 p.m.

The Mayor and Members of the Council Elect entered the Chambers led by Piper Rob McGregor, York Regional Police Pipes & Drums, and the Vaughan Fire & Rescue Honour Guard.

The meeting commenced with the singing of the National Anthem by the Herbert H. Carnegie Public School Choir.

Father Mike Corcione of St. Peter's Catholic Church delivered the Invocation.

The Honourable Madam Justice Michelle Fuerst, Superior Court of Ontario, administered the Declaration of Office to the Mayor and Members of Council.

The City Clerk presented the Chain of Office to Mayor Maurizio Bevilacqua.

Rabbi Yisroel Landa, Executive Director, Beth Chabad Israeli Community, delivered the Blessing.

Mayor Maurizio Bevilacqua introduced the City of Vaughan Council for the 2010 – 2014 term, and each Member of Council gave their Inaugural address.

Ms. Hannah Godefa invited Mayor Maurizio Bevilacqua to deliver his address.

Mayor Maurizio Bevilacqua delivered his Inaugural address.

Mr. Lal Malik, President of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community, delivered the Closing Prayer.

Mr. Christopher Dallo sang "Because we Believe" as a closing performance.

Mayor Bevilacqua provided closing comments and invited guests to the Paramount Conference & Event Venue for the reception.

# 165. CONFIRMING BY-LAW

MOVED by Regional Councillor Schulte seconded by Councillor DeFrancesca

THAT By-law Number 243-2010, being a by-law to confirm the proceedings of Council at its meeting on December 6, 2010, be read a First, Second and Third time and enacted.

**CARRIED** 

## 166. ADJOURNMENT

MOVED by Councillor Carella seconded by Councillor lafrate

THAT the meeting adjourn at 8:30 p.m.

**CARRIED** 

Hon. Maurizio Bevilacqua, Mayor

Jeffrey A. Abrams, City Clerk